Lightfoot To Be In Inaugural Canadian Entertainment Hall Of Fame Class

August 22, 2019

The Canadian Entertainment Hall of Fame officially announces the 2019 Inductees into the CEHOF. The Class of 2019 are actors MICHAEL J. FOX, GORDON LIGHTFOOT and DONALD SUTHERLAND head the class of 2019. Joining the above posthumously are film executive JACK L. WARNER, actor, comedian JOHN CANDY and musician, writer, producer LEONARD COHEN.

In addition to our inductees, the CEHOF also presents the Raymond Massey Legacy Award. This year’s recipient is Canadian musician, record producer, composer and songwriter, DAVID FOSTER.

“We are honoured, to learn of our grandfather Jack Warner’s induction. Jack, and his three brothers: Harry, Sam and Albert were innovators. Through hard work, ambition, unity (at least initially) and, perhaps most importantly, through amazing foresight created an empire, Warner Bros. Pictures,” said Debbie Warner Walch, granddaughter of Jack Warner.

Those eligible for election to the Canadian Entertainment Hall of Fame must be born in Canada, raised in Canada or have performed here enough to leave a lasting and significant impact on Canadians to be recognized as a national icon. Individuals, or groups, become eligible for induction after having been involved in the entertainment industry for a minimum 20 years

Raymond Massey Award: The award annually recognizes the outstanding achievements of a Canadian performer, or group, whose career has entertained the public on a consistent high level of excellence, in their chosen field of endeavour.

Established in 2019, the Canadian Entertainment Hall of Fame’s mission is to honour Canadian entertainers through celebrations of their lifetime achievements.  On behalf of all Canadians the CEHOF will endeavor to formally recognize and permanently honour those elected to the Hall of Fame and ensure the memories of their talent, achievement and contributions remain for generations to come.

The Induction Ceremony will be held in the latter part of 2019, details to follow.